Day 5: The Stars

I have been into photography for about three years now. I love my DSLR camera and cannot go on a new adventure (no matter how small) without it. I don’t pretend to be a photographer, because I am not, but looking through the camera lens trying to capture something I pictured in my head is something I love.

Over the past three years I have come to realize how amazing human sight is. No matter how hard I try pictures never seem to be as beautiful as nature, especially since I do not edit any of the pictures I take.

Last night there was a power outage (hence the late post) which I have reason to suspect was widespread across the country. I stepped outside on the porch and the sky was gleaming with hundreds of stars. I didn’t even bother going to get my camera because it would never be able to catch the sparkle. I walked around the yard in the dark hoping I wouldn’t trip on anything with my chin high up.

And this verse came to mind:

الَّذِينَ يَذْكُرُونَ اللّهَ قِيَامًا وَقُعُودًا وَعَلَىَ جُنُوبِهِمْ وَيَتَفَكَّرُونَ فِي خَلْقِ السَّمَاوَاتِ وَالأَرْضِ رَبَّنَا مَا خَلَقْتَ هَذا بَاطِلاً سُبْحَانَكَ فَقِنَا عَذَابَ النَّارِ

Who remember Allah while standing or sitting or [lying] on their sides and give thought to the creation of the heavens and the earth, [saying], “Our Lord, You did not create this aimlessly; exalted are You [above such a thing]; then protect us from the punishment of the Fire.


Leave a comment